Run To The Beat- My First Half Marathon

So recently I ran and completed my first half marathon- The Nike Run To The Beat in London with one of my best friends Sophie Hardy.

Me and Sophie before the Race

Me and Sophie before the Race

I have always been ‘into’ running, after being a member of Thames Valley athletics club in my early teens weekends consisted of cross country competitions in the winter and Athletics ones in the Summer. As soon as my academics got tougher though I had to step down and leave the club. I have kept fit and sporty throughout my teens and it was only when I went to Uni I probably did less than ever before- typical!

I still went to the gym though and on some runs, but just no way to the extent I had been doing it before. Then in September 2012 I broke my leg stupidly drunk on a night out, and was in a cast and immobile for 9 weeks. This really damaged my ankle and even after swimming the day my cast came off, I had problems with it since especially when in the gym and running.

When I came back from Uni this Summer I really decided as I was starting my placement I needed to get into a routine of keeping fit and lose some of those freshers pounds. Sophie is also really into keeping fit and we somehow convinced each other to do a half marathon. We trained every week doing at least two long runs a week and going to the gym on a regular basis.

In the sea of runners before the start

In the sea of runners before the start

I remember the first time we went on a run, I had to stop probably not even mile in crying because my ankle hurt so much- this was going to take some training. I spoke to my parents and my doctor and thankfully am on private health care got to see a physiotherapist fast. I went to see one of my good friends (Anna Holmes) mum who told me it was hurting due to lack of strength and flexibility. I went to see her a few times and she really improved it. I don’t think without those sessions I would have been able to do it and now have NO problems at all with it. HORRAY!!!

The Sea of Runners

The Sea of Runners

It was on a sunny Sunday morning on September 6th, and Sophie and I got up early and my parents drove us into London. I felt sick with nerves, although I had trained and had cut drinking out almost completely as part of the training you always get the pre race jitters. Sophie and I ran it in an amazing time, and I have personally raised over £500 for Scope, an amazing charity which helps the disabled and families affected.

Behind the Millenium Dome With our Medals!!

Behind the Millenium Dome With our Medals!!

I highly recommend doing this half marathon- not only is there different DJ’s and music around the course, there is so much support and a lot of people are amateurs ! Oh and did I mention we got to see Jessie J after !!!! A M A Z I N G!!

Thanks to all my friends and family who supported me and my incredible friend Sophie- I love you…

Jessie J at the end - What a great finish!

Jessie J at the end – What a great finish!

Setting yourself a goal is an amazing way to get back into the routine of fitness and sports and lose some weight. I have lost over a stone since I began to train for that half marathon and have continued my regime since!

Websites:

http://www.runtothebeat.co.uk/

http://www.scope.org.uk/

http://www.physiodirectory.co.uk/pages/Amersham.php – Judy Saunders @ Cottage Clinic

http://www.justgiving.com/Kitty-Walker1

Leave a comment